This article will explain how to use Snapchat to share photos and videos. Instructions are for both Android and iOS phones.
How to Access Snapchat Memories
Snapchat Memories allows users to save snaps and upload videos from their device. Here’s how you can access Snapchat Memories:
- Navigate to the camera tab within Snapchat. If you aren’t already there, swipe left or right across the tabs.
- Just below the camera button, tap the small image icon.
You will see a new tab named Memories at the bottom of your screen. This tab shows a grid with snaps you have saved. This tab will become blank if there aren’t any snaps saved yet.
How to upload your photos and videos
0 seconds from 1 minute, 6 secondVolume 90
The Memories feature allows you to upload files from your smartphone. SnapChat lets you make edits to photos. Snapchat allows you to trim, add text and sound to a video before you send it.
- Memories will show three tabs: Snaps, Camera roll and My Eyes Only. You won’t see My Eyes Only if you haven’t set it up. Switch to the appropriate tab by tapping CameraRoll
Camera Roll contains all images and videos stored on your smartphone. My Eyes Only is a backup service that allows you to back up items on Snapchat. Choose the snaps you wish to make private by tapping the lock icon at the bottom, and then follow the prompts.
Snapchat might ask you to first allow Snapchat access to your phone’s photos. A popup will appear asking you for permission if this is not already done. To continue, tap OK
- You can choose a photo, video or text to send as a message or as a story.
- Tap the menu at the upper right corner marked by three dots.
- Choose Edit Image(iOS), or Edit Snap_(Android).
- Make optional edits in your photo or movie using the tools available for text emoji drawings, filters, or cut-and-paste editing.
Since the photo or video was not taken within Snapchat, Bitmoji and animations will not be available to you. However, at the very least, you should be capable of using one of the many tinted filter options.
- Once you’re done making edits, tap Done. You can then save the image by following the prompts.
- You don’t have to save the edited photo to send it. You can send an edited photo to friends by tapping the Send button.
Snapchat’s Formatting Photos and Videos
It is possible that the Snapchat photos and videos you upload might look different from those you capture directly on the app. You might notice that some photos have black edges and others are zoomed in with their outer edges cut off. Snapchat will try to make your photo or video look great enough to send. But, Snapchat isn’t able to guarantee that it’s perfect.
Apps to bypass third-party workarounds are blocked
Before Memories was introduced, there were many apps from third party developers that claimed they could help Snapchat users upload photos and videos to Snapchat. Snapchat has since removed third-party apps from its platform, stating it is a violation to Snapchat’s Terms and Conditions.